rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
CANYON ROADHOUSE

Faîtes le plein de sourires à ce lodge hors du commun. Ressemblant à un ancien relais routier, le lodge est une véritable caverne aux trésors, et un arrêt obligatoire sur le chemin du Fish River Canyon. Les merveilles entreposées à l’extérieur, telles que vieilles Chevrolet rouillées et Ford d'un autre temps, présagent des trésors cachés à l'intérieur. Garez votre véhicule et entrez.

Comme dans la caverne d’Aladdin, les larges portes s’ouvrent sur un camion servant de réception, une “pompstasie” (station-service) en guise de bar et un assortiment de véhicules authentiques. Tous ces objets d’époque sont assemblés avec créativité - et beaucoup d'humour ! Les tables du restaurant sont placées entre eux, et les habitacles de plusieurs voitures servent de cheminées pendant les mois d’hiver.

La Canyon Roadhouse offre bien plus qu’une décoration fascinante. De larges chambres accueillantes, positionnées autour de cours, rendent la Roadhouse confortable et pratique – le point de départ parfait pour le Fish River Canyon, à 14 kilomètres de là. Le lodge possède une piscine, un site de camping, une terrasse pour déguster les spécialités culinaires de la Roadhouse, comme le cheesecake à l’Amarula (et le meilleur cappucino à des kilomètres à la ronde!), et un chemin de randonnée à travers les collines.

La colline est le point de vue idéal pour apprécier le coucher de soleil et admirer les vues sur la Montagne Holoog au sommet aplati et sur le Gondwana Canyon Park. Prenez part à une excursion guidée jusqu’aux points de vue du canyon, randonnez dans le canyon sur 3-4 jours, ou conduisez votre 4x4 sur la Wildebeest Route en direction des Canyon Lodge et Village, afin d’apercevoir zèbres et gnous dans les plaines herbeuses. Assurez-vous d'inclure ce lodge si original - construit avec flair, créativité et joie de vivre – à votre itinéraire!

(PS: Le lodge possède également sa propre station-essence; ne manquez pas de faire le plein de carburant… et de sourires en visitant le canyon.)

Renseignement Lodge

Services disponibles
Laundry Service
Credit Card: Visa, Master
Services de l'établissement
22 Rooms (19 Twin, 1 Triple and 2 Family Rooms)
Restaurant
Bar
Swimming Pool
Wi-Fi (100 MB free)
24-hour Security
Mobile Connectivity
Secure Parking
Air Conditioning / Heating
En-suite bathrooms, showers
Safe
Veranda
Tea / Coffee Facilities
Prix enfants
Les enfants sont les bienvenus dans tous les lodges de Gondwana Collection. Le séjour est gratuit pour les enfants de moins de 5 ans. Il est facturé à 50% du tarif B&B pour les enfants âgés de 6 à 13 ans.
Adresse Electronique:
bookings(at)gondwana-collection.com
Tel:
+264 63 683 111
Tel (Alternate):
+264 (0)63 266 031
Fax:
+264 (0)63 693 017
En dehors des heures de bureau:
+264 81 129 2424

Chambres & Prix

rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
Partager
Les chambres spacieuses sont équipées de lits jumeaux, d'une salle de bains, d'un climatiseur et de thé/café. Nous proposons 2 chambres jumelles reliées entre elles - Réservation en tant que Chambre Famille. Vérifier disponibilité
rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
Partager
Les chambres dominent une cour centrale. Cette chambre spacieuse a trois lits simples et une salle de bains (douche uniquement). Toutes les chambres proposent climatiseur et thé/café. Vérifier disponibilité
rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
Partager
Les chambres dominent une cour centrale. Cette chambre spacieuse a quatre lits simples et une salle de bains (douche uniquement). Toutes les chambres proposent climatiseur et thé/café. Vérifier disponibilité

Activités

Randonnée matinale (guidée)
Cette randonnée (environ 6 km - 3 heures) vous emmène dans la réserve du Gondwana Canyon Park. Vous êtes accompagné par un guide qui sera ravi de partager avec vous ses connaissances sur la fascinante flore entourant le canyon. Cette randonnée de conduit pas au Fish River Canyon. Départ du Canyon Lodge - l'organisation du transport jusqu'au Canyon Lodge est à la charge de nos visiteurs.
Saison 2020 : 1 novembre 2019 – 31 octobre 2020 N$ 353 pp
Marche au lever du soleil (guidée)
Vous serez conduit à un point de vue magnifique. Admirez le lever du soleil tout en savourant une tasse de café ou thé. Puis, retour à pied jusqu’au lodge. (Environ 1 heure) Cette marche ne conduit pas au Fish River Canyon. Départ du Canyon Lodge - l'organisation du transport jusqu'au Canyon Lodge est à la charge de nos visiteurs.
Saison 2020 : 1 novembre 2019 – 31 octobre 2020 N$ 187 pp
Sentiers de randonnée (en autonomie)
Déliez-vous les jambes tout en admirant les paysages magnifiques le long de nos sentiers balisés (pas de carte). Réservations au lodge uniquement.
Saison 2020 : 1 novembre 2019 – 31 octobre 2020 Gratuit, en autonomie
Excursion Canyon en véhicule - matin/après-midi (guidée)
Spécialement conçue pour les voyageurs désirant faire une pause sans conduire ou ceux voyageant en avion. Vous serez conduits aux deux principaux points de vue sur le Fish River Canyon. Notre guide vous expliquera la géologie fascinante du canyon. Boissons, snacks et frais d'entrée dans le parc inclus. (Environ 3 heures). Départ du Canyon Lodge - l'organisation du transport jusqu'au Canyon Lodge est à la charge de nos visiteurs.
Saison 2020 : 1 novembre 2019 – 31 octobre 2020 N$ 1045 pp
Virée au coucher du soleil dans le Gondwana Canyon Park (guidée)
Cette virée en voiture d'environ 3 heures débute du Canyon Lodge ou du Canyon Village. C'est l’occasion idéale pour vous familiariser avec la géologie, la faune et la flore du Gondwana Canyon Park. Ce trajet n’inclut pas la visite du Fish River Canyon. Boissons et snacks inclus. Départ du Canyon Lodge ou du Canyon Village - l'organisation du transport jusqu'au Canyon Lodge ou au Canyon Village est à la charge de nos visiteurs.
Saison 2020 : 1 novembre 2019 – 31 octobre 2020 N$ 599 pp

Avis voyageurs

Check Availability & Rates A partir de N$ 1 589.00 - Enquire
X

rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
CANYON ROADHOUSE

Fill up on smiles at this extraordinary and out-of-the-ordinary lodge. Resembling a roadhouse of old with a large red roof, the lodge is a veritable treasure-house and a 'must-do' stop when visiting the canyon. The outside area hints of the wonderland interior with its rusty old Chevys and Fords from a bygone era, adorned with corky quiver trees and desert flora. Park your vehicle and step inside.

As if you have entered an Aladdin's cave, the large doors open onto an International truck serving as the reception desk, a 'pompstasie' (filling station) bar and an assortment of classic vehicles and transport paraphernalia assembled with an innovative and creative flair - and a good deal of humour! Restaurant tables are placed in between and the cabs of several cars serve as zany fireplaces in the chilly winter months.

Canyon Roadhouse has more than just a fascinating interior. Large attractive rooms, positioned around courtyards, make the Roadhouse a comfortable - and convenient - base when visiting the Fish River Canyon, just 14 kilometres away. The canyon resort has a swimming pool, a campsite, a terrace to enjoy Roadhouse specialities like Amarula cheesecake (and the best cappuccino for miles around) and a walking trail through the hills.

Sunset is best appreciated from the hill above the lodge looking out onto the flat-topped Holoog Mountain and the Gondwana Canyon Park. Take a guided excursion to the canyon viewpoints, hike the 3-4 day superlative canyon trail or drive the 4x4 Wildebeest Route towards Canyon Lodge and Village to view zebra and wildebeest on the grassy plains. Be sure to include this quirky lodge - constructed with flair, creativity, mischief and a zest for life - into all travel plans!

(ps. The lodge also has its own fuel station, so remember to fill up on fuel and smiles when visiting the canyon.) S 27˚ 31.439’ E 17˚ 48.680’

View Map for directions

Lodge Information

Available Services
Laundry Service
Credit Card: Visa, Master
Property Facilities
22 Rooms (19 Twin, 1 Triple and 2 Family Rooms)
Restaurant
Bar
Swimming Pool
Wi-Fi (100 MB free)
24-hour Security
Mobile Connectivity
Secure Parking
Air Conditioning / Heating
En-suite bathrooms, showers
Safe
Veranda
Tea / Coffee Facilities
Child Policy
Children are most welcome at all our venues. Children up to 5 years old are free of charge; for children between the age of 6 and 13 years we charge 50 per cent of the B&B rate.
Mail:
bookings(at)gondwana-collection.com
Tel:
+264 63 683 111
Tel (Alternate):
+264 (0)63 266 031
Fax:
+264 (0)63 693 017
After Hours:
+264 81 129 2424

Rooms & Rates

rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
Sharing
The rooms are spacious with twin beds, en suite bathroom, air-conditioning and tea/coffee facilities. We have 2 twin rooms with an interleading door - please enquire as a family room. Check Availability
rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
Sharing
The rooms overlook a central courtyard. This spacious open plan room has three single beds and an en suite bathroom (shower only). All rooms have air-conditioners and tea/coffee facilities. Check Availability
rsz_roadhouse2.jpg
Sharing
The rooms overlook a central courtyard. This spacious open plan room has four single beds and an en suite bathroom (shower only). All rooms have air-conditioners and tea/coffee facilities. Check Availability

Activities

Morning Hike (guided)
This hike (about 6 km) takes you right into Gondwana Canyon Park. You are accompanied by a guide who will gladly share his knowledge about the fascinating desert landscape around the canyon. This tour does not include the Fish River Canyon. (Approx. 3 hours). Starting from Canyon Lodge - guests must arrange their own transport to Canyon Lodge.
Season 2020: 1 November 2019 - 31 October 2020 N$ 353 pp
Sunrise Walk (guided)
We drive you to a spot with a grand view. Watch the sunrise while enjoying coffee and tea. Then we walk back the short distance to the lodge. This tour does not include the Fish River Canyon. (Approx. 1 hour). Starting from Canyon Lodge - guests must arrange their own transport to Canyon Lodge.
Season 2020: 1 November 2019 - 31 October 2020 N$ 187 pp
Hiking Trails (un-guided)
Stretch your legs and enjoy the beautiful surroundings by making use of our marked walking trail (no map provided). Bookable at the lodge only. (2 - 3 hours)
Season 2020: 1 November 2019 - 31 October 2020 Self-guided, free of charge
Morning/Afternoon Canyon Drive (guided)
Especially for guests who want a break from the wheel or those on a fly-in safari. You are taken to the two major lookout points along the Fish River Canyon. Our guide will tell you all about the canyon's fascinating geology. Refreshments, a light snack and all park entry fees are included. (Approx. 3 hours). Starting from Canyon Lodge - guests must arrange their own transport to Canyon Lodge.
Season 2020: 1 November 2019 - 31 October 2020 N$ 1045 pp
Sundowner Drive in Gondwana Canyon Park (guided)
The 3 hour drive is the perfect opportunity for you to acquaint yourself with the geology, flora and fauna of the Gondwana Canyon Park. This tour does not include the Fish River Canyon. Approx. Refreshments and light snacks included. 3 hours. Starting from Canyon Lodge or Canyon Village - guests must arrange their own transport to Canyon Lodge or Canyon Village.
Season 2020: 1 November 2019 - 31 October 2020 N$ 599 pp

Reviews

Check Availability & Rates Starting from N$ 1 589.00 - Enquire
X